SALT Wins British 2008 Independent Publishing Awards

2008 Independent Publishing Awards

WINNER Nielsen Innovation of the Year: Salt Publishing

The prize winners received their Independent Publishing Awards at a gala dinner in Brighton on Saturday 8th March. The ceremony is part of the Independent Publishers Guild’s annual conference at the De Vere Grand Hotel, attended by hundreds of members from all fields of publishing. The awards, now in their second year, were set up by the IPG in association with The Bookseller and London Book Fair to celebrate the successes of independent publishers. All winners were chosen by panels of industry experts.

IPG Executive Director Bridget Shine says: “Congratulations to our eleven prize winners, each of whom is a true champion in their field. The IPG and all our judges were hugely impressed by the variety and vibrancy of all the companies who entered the awards. The strong submissions show that independent publishing in the UK is thriving.”

More detail on the winner and judges’ comments.


Salt Publishing received the Nielsen Innovation of the Year award for its imaginative efforts to increase sales of collections of poetry and short stories despite very challenging market conditions. It impressed with its range of web-based marketing initiatives and partnerships and energetic development of its brand. “Salt is bucking the trend in poetry by growing its sales,” said the judges. “Its innovation in lots of small ways adds up to a major achievement.”

Also shortlisted in this category were Snowbooks and Weird Grape.

The IPG is grateful to all the industry experts who acted as judges for the Independent Publishing Awards: Francis Bennett, Stuart Biles, Philip Blackwell, Steve Bohme, Neill Denny, Elise Dillsworth, Michael Holdsworth, Emma House, Simon Juden, Mark Kenber, Sonny Leong, Jane Mays, Gary McKeone, Chris Meade, Caroline Michel, Chris Mottershead, Sharon Murray, Kes Nielsen, Tim Rix, David Roche, Andrew Senior, Mo Siewcharran, Ian Snowley, Liz Thomson, Tom Tivnan, Steve Walker and Caroline Walsh.

The IPG also thanks its partners, The Bookseller and the London Book Fair, and all those who have sponsored awards: Bertrams | THE, the Booksellers Association, Grantham Book Services, Lightning Source, Nielsen, Publishing Technology, RPM Print and Design, Taylor Wessing, UK Trade & Investment, the van Tulleken Company and Xerox.

For any further information, please contact:
Bridget Shine, IPG Executive Director
Telephone: 01763 247014

(Visited 54 times, 1 visits today)

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *